Effort Club to celebrate anniversary and race progress at New Bethel

Effort Club to celebrate anniversary and race progress at New Bethel
November 10
02:30 2016


The Effort Club of New Bethel Baptist Church will celebrate its 92nd Anniversary and 20th Annual Race Progress Promoters Program on Sunday, Nov. 13, 2016 at 3 p.m. at New Bethel Baptist Church which, 1016 N. Trade St. Dr. Kendall D. Jones Sr. is senior pastor of New Bethel Baptist Church.

The Race Progress Promoters Program honors African-American individuals and groups who have made significant contributions in Winston-Salem to promote community visibility.  This idea was started from our own former first lady, and current Effort Club member, Susie Drayton, whom continues to be involved in this organization.

During the awards ceremony, the honorees will be presented by a team of judges, selected by the Effort Club and awarded a plaque. This year’s judges include community members who have promoted Race Progress, as well as progress that we should be making.

So we honor individuals who are doing an outstanding job in promoting race progress in the community.  The honorees are introduced by a judge who accepted the nomination of the candidates.

This year’s panel of judges is Chief Judge – Diane Piggott, Nigel Alston, Brenda Diggs and Youth Judge, Nzinga Hawkins.

This year’s recipients are:

*Television / Media, Talitha Vickers

*Religion, Pastor Curtis Friday

*Politics, Ms. Linda Sutton

*Business, Richard Williams

*Medicine / Dentistry, Dr. Eric J. Sadler

*Music, Jerry Allen

*Education, Professor Margaret Poston

*Law, Kia Chavious

*Cheerleading / Dance, Dynamic Spirit Force Elite

*Special Honor Recipients: 2 remaining Survivors of the Original Eight Firemen Firefighters, Willie Carter and Robert Grier

*Youth Recipients: Oteria Dubose, Scholar Athlete; De’ante Petree, Scholar Athlete; 

Kahmya Cowan,  Academic and Community Achievement; 

Sara Little, Academic and Community Achievement;  

Myah Sweetney, Academic and community Achievement 

All are invited. A meet and greet reception will be held in honor of this year’s award recipients after the program. Lisa Myers is the president of the Effort Club.

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors