Sigma Beta Club inducts eight new members

Sigma Beta Club inducts eight new members
September 03
00:00 2015

In above photo: Delta Sigma Chapter of the Sigma Beta Club and Advisory Committee members are shown. (Submitted Photo)

Special to the Chronicle

The Delta Sigma chapter of the Sigma Beta Club held an induction ceremony on Sunday, Aug. 9 in front of an audience of 70 family, friends, Sigma Beta Club members and brothers of Phi Beta Sigma.

The ceremony was held at Grace Fellowship Church on Brownsboro Road.

The Delta Sigma chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc. is the sponsoring chapter for the local Sigma Beta Club, a youth auxiliary of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity for males ages 8-18. The club’s motto is “Next Generation of Leaders Accepting the Responsibility and Loving the Challenge.”

Under the direction of Dr. Parlette L. Moore, the Sigma Beta Club was founded in 1950.  Brother Moore (20th Phi Beta Sigma International president) was concerned about changing needs in our communities and recognized the important role that Sigma men could play in the lives of our youth.

The ceremony marks the third induction class into the Sigma Beta Club since it was re-chartered on October 12, 2012.  Kimani M. Carter, Ezabai A. Diaz, Adrian L. Ellis, Justin P. K. Hines, Joshua A. Jackson, Nigel J. McDaniel Moore, Evan C. Simmons, and Tyshaun J. Williams were the newly inducted members.

The Sigma Beta Clubs’ four major principles of focus are on culture, athletics, social and educational needs.

The Sigma Beta Club offers a unique opportunity to develop values, leadership skills and social/cultural awareness in our youth during their developmental years.  Sigma Beta Club programs are geared to meet the needs of its members, but at the same time provide them with a well-rounded outlook that is needed to cope with today’s society.

Phi Beta Sigma officials say they are confident that investing in our youth today will produce the effective leaders of tomorrow.

Current Sigma Betas took on an active role in the program. John A. Jackson III gave the welcome, and Jomaad K. Cater gave the invocation.  Nasir I. McDaniel-Moore read the purpose and Christopher A. Hinton gave the closing remarks.

On the Sigma Beta Club Advisory Committee are Phi Beta Sigma members Willie L. Conner Jr., Daniel A. Crudup, Stuart D. Eaton, John A. Jackson II, Reginald D. McCaskill, Darryl A. Prince Sr., and Tracy T. Webb.

“We are looking forward to continuing positive programming in the community with the new members,” officials said in a statement.

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors