Winston-Salem Symphony elects new board members and presents annual award

Winston-Salem Symphony elects new board members and presents annual award
July 28
05:00 2016


The Winston-Salem Symphony announced the election of directors for the Winston-Salem Symphony Association Board of Directors, Class of 2016, at its recent annual meeting. Elected directors serve three-year terms.  The Class of 2016 includes three new and seven renewing directors. The three new directors are: Dr. Edward Abraham, William E. “Bill” Hollan III, and Yvette Willard.

Dr. Edward Abraham is the Dean of Wake Forest School of Medicine where he oversees the academic enterprise. He is an internationally distinguished pulmonary medicine and critical care physician and an accomplished scientist with continuous National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding for more than 25 years.

William E. “Bill” Hollan III is a Certified Financial Planner (CFP®) and partner with Arbor Investment Advisors. From 2000 to 2011, he served in a number of commercial and retail leadership roles at BB&T, both in Winston-Salem and in Southwest Virginia.

Yvette Willard is Vice President of Organizational Effectiveness at Reynolds American. She is responsible for Human Resources strategic planning and governance, employer branding and recruitment marketing, employee research and workforce analytics, Human Resources communications, employee social well-being strategies, and work environment initiatives.

For 2016-2017, the officers for the board of directors are: Board Chair, Steve Karr (Retired Employment Attorney, R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company); Board Chair Elect, Dr. Frank James (Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology, Wake Forest School of Medicine); Treasurer, Borgia Walker (Senior Director, Health & Wellness, Reynolds American); and Secretary, Jim Dossinger (Retired Exxon Executive).

Renewing directors are Dr. Malcolm Brown, Gerry Gunzenhauser, Sue Henderson, Dr. Greg Holthusen, Joia Johnson, Jeff Lindsay, and Matt York.

In addition, the Board Member of the Year award was presented at the annual meeting. This award is given to a member of the board who in some manner “has gone above and beyond the call of duty” in service to the Winston-Salem Symphony and its board of directors over the course of the past fiscal year. The winner of the 2015-2016 Board Member of the Year award was Dr. Steve Mizel. Dr. Mizel is a retired professor of microbiology and immunology at Wake Forest University Health Services. He serves on the Symphony board as Chair of Human Resources and Governance Committee, Chair of the Venue Task Force, and Chair of the Innovation Task Force.

For more information, visit

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors