Larson, Vickery, Johnson and county bonds among Forsyth County winners

Carrie Vickery

Larson, Vickery, Johnson and county bonds among Forsyth County winners
November 10
08:30 2016



Along with the national and state races, there were many local contests on Tuesday’s ballot.

The City Council will soon have a new member, as John Larson won the South Ward race.

Molly Leight, who currently represents the ward, is retiring and endorsed Larson as her successor. He beat Republican Michael Tyler by more than 5,500 votes.

“We’re very pleased with the support that’s been given to me by the South Ward,” said Larson. “I take it as a strong endorsement of my candidacy, and I take it as a mandate to move forward to represent the South Ward.”

It’s been a long election for Larson, who is retiring from his position as vice president of restoration at Old Salem Museum and Gardens. He originally lost the primary by six votes to Carolyn Highsmith, but appealed to the State Board of Elections, who called for a do-over because some voters received incorrect ballots. Larson decisively won the second primary.

The rest of the City Council remains intact. Jeff MacIntosh, who represents the Northwest Ward, won his re-election against Republican challenger Eric Henderson. The rest had no challengers.

Lynne Johnson, who defeated current Register of Deeds C. Norman Holleman in the primary, won her bid for the office against Republican Steve Wood. Johnson is a former longtime employee of the Register of Deeds office and currently works in the Clerk of Courts office.

Attorney Carrie Vickery defeated Aaron Berlin, a Forsyth County assistant district attorney, winning the 21st Judicial District seat of Judge William Graham, who is retiring.

Vickery has been an attorney with the Holton Law Firm since 2009. She first declared her candidacy for the seat in 2013 and has been working ever since to fulfill her longtime dream of becoming a judge.

“I’m excited,” said Vickery. “We’ve run a really hard campaign and I’ve got so much support from all areas of the community and the county, and I’m just really looking forward to serving on the bench and serving citizens of Forsyth County.”

Mayor Allen Joines won his fifth term with almost 87,000 votes. He had no challenger on the ballot, but JoAnne Allen ran as a write-in candidate. There were more than 5,000 write-in votes, but how many of those are for Allen will be determined next week, during the local BOE’s canvass.

All three county bonds won by wide margins. Voters approved $350 million for Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools, $65 million for Forsyth Technical Community College and$15 million for Forsyth County parks.

Incumbent Republican County Commissioners Dave Plyler, Richard Linville  and Gloria Whisenhunt  defeated Democratic challengers Selester Stewart, Bob Stitcher and Trent Harmon to win re-election for seats they’ve had for decades.

About Author

Todd Luck

Todd Luck

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors