Clyburn and Valentine to take top honors at gala

Clyburn and Valentine to take top  honors at gala
March 23
07:30 2017



This Saturday, The Chronicle will celebrate individuals and organizations in the community who work effortlessly to improve the lives of others in during the 32nd annual Community Awards Gala.

Since the mid-1980s, The Chronicle has hosted the event to shine a light on the good deeds of people in the community.

What began as a small ceremony held in a conference room has grown to become one of the city’s most anticipated events. Chronicle Publisher Emeritus Ernie Pitt said he had no idea the event would grow to what it has become today.

This year’s event, held inside the M.C. Benton Convention Center, will recognize individuals, locally owned businesses, nonprofits and churches for their dedication to make Winston-Salem a better place.

Taking home the top awards for Man and Women of the year is the Rev. James Clyburn and Dr. Peggy Valentine.

A 1971 graduate of Atkins High School, Rev. Clyburn has been working to improve the quality of life for others for more than 40 years. While serving as the pastor of Red Bank Baptist Church, Clyburn still finds times to give back to the youth where they need it most, in our schools. For 23 years Rev. Clyburn, has served as a teacher at West Forsyth High School in Clemmons, NC. It is Rev. Clyburn’s vision that the church serve as leaders in the community.

Dr. Valentine currently serves as the dean and associate professor of the School of Health Sciences at Winston-Salem State University. For her contributions to the African Diaspora Valentine is listed in “Who’s Who of American Women” and honored as Educator of the Year by the American Academy of Physician Assistants. Dr. Valentine has also conducted research on homelessness and other minority issues, her work is published in several textbooks and educational manuals.

Others recognized during the 32nd Annual Community Awards Gala include:

The Paulette Lewis-Moore Community Service Award: Deputy Commissioner Mike Silver, Sergeant Timothy James

Lifetime Achievement Award: Mildred Griffin, Kenneth Sadler, Dr. James Branch, Rev. Konnie Robinson

Human Relations Award: Cheryl E.H. Locke

Arts & Innovation Award: Harry Knabb – Arts for Arts Sake

Church of the Year: United Metropolitan Baptist Church

Organization of the Year: Psi Psi Chapter of Omega Si Phi Fraternity Inc.

Business of the Year: Meta’s West Third, Jodria Bufford, Mary Kay

Young Professional Award: Elasya B’s Candy Tree Special Tribute: Attorney Eric Ellison

The 32nd annual Community Awards Gala will be held on Saturday, March 25, on the ground floor of the Benton Convention Center.

About Author

Tevin Stinson

Tevin Stinson

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors