Arts nonprofit to hold annual gala

Arts nonprofit to hold annual gala
June 07
00:00 2013

The ScottCares Foundation, a nonprofit dedicated to embracing the arts while also teaching and promoting computer literacy and technology, will hold its Seventh Annual Scholarship and Humanitarian Awards Gala Saturday, June 8 at 6 p.m. at the Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center.

Graduating high school seniors will be presented with scholarships and four esteemed community humanitarians will take home awards during the event.
“Students that share a passion for the creative process should be celebrated,” said ScottCares Foundation Founder and President Scott Abdul-Salaam.“Our community is also comprised of special humanitarians that give of themselves everyday for the betterment of the long term. These heroes are what make our City a City of Innovation and a great place to live.”

Mt. Tabor seniors Madeline Hamrick and Miriam Martincova; Elijah Jamarr Miller of The Academy at Smith High School in Greensboro; Hannah Thornton of North Forsyth; and Rebecca Ward of Reagan High will receive scholarships to support their arts-based college aspirations. Jamie Dawson will receive the Nahla Rochelle Smiling Scholarship to support her for the remainder of her college career. The Smiling Scholarship is a product of the strategic partnership between the ScottCares Foundation and Triad Therapy Mental Health Center, LLC.

“Every year we get to meet some very talented students with passion to match. We will be in good creative hands if we continue to do right by these students,” said Dr. Idris El-Amin, scholarship committee chair who recognizes the non-profit foundation has felt the impact of the tough economy. “Even with a troubled economy and limited resources, we are very grateful to award scholarships with the funds we have, to help offset educational costs for hardworking families.”

The ScottCares Foundation started awarding scholarships in 2007. Since that time the Foundation has been able to award and help more than 50 students.
The humanitarian honors will go to the following:
• Humanitarian in the Arts – Lynn & Barry Eisenberg
• Humanitarian in Education– UNCSA Chancellor John Mauceri
• Humanitarian in Technology – Paul Kortenaar and SciWorks
• Humanitarian in Community Service– the Winston Salem Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
Dr. Judy Rashid, dean of students at N.C. A&T State University, will give the keynote address. The jazz band Darryl Little & Friends will perform.

Tickets are $55 each or $100 for couples. Tables of eight are $400. Buy tickets at or

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors