Filing periods ends, marking start of campaign season

Filing periods ends, marking start  of campaign season
March 10
07:42 2022

Three months after it began, the filing period for the 2022 primary election ended statewide last Friday and the campaign season is officially underway.

Initially, filing for the 2022 primary election began on Dec. 6, but the N.C. Supreme Court suspended the filing period two days later and rescheduled municipal elections because of the lawsuits filed over redrawn congressional and legislative district maps. Candidate filing resumed at 8 a.m. on Feb. 24 and ended on March 4. 

With the primary election rescheduled for May 17, voters have less than two months to get a feel for the candidates and their platforms. To help ease the process, The Chronicle has compiled a list of candidates vying for seats. 

Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools Board of Education

With several seats up for grabs and a few incumbents not seeking re-election, there are several newcomers in the race for seats on the board of education. 

Board Chair Deanna Kaplan (D), who holds the at-large seat, has three challengers in the primary: Sabrina Coone-Godfrey, Kimberly Stone, and Richard Watts. Republicans Robert Nunzio Capizzi, Allen Daniel, Tabitha Hackett, Michael Hardman, Millie Williams, Sarah Absher, and Carolyn Albright are also running for an at-large seat. 

In District 1, incumbent Alex Bohannon (D), who was appointed to fill a vacant seat on the board last year, will be joined by Chenita Barber Johnson (D), Ricky (Lightbulb) Johnson (D), Tarsha Shore (D), and Trevonia (BG) Brown-Gaither (D) in the race for the two seats up for grabs. 

Ten people, including incumbents Lida Calvert Hayes (R) and Leah Crowley (R), are running to represent District 2, which represents schools in the district located outside Winston-Salem. Stan Elrod (R), Jason Lucero (R), Susan Miller (R), Holly Pegram (R), Yvonne Williams (R), Steve Wood (R), Robert Barr (R), and Jimmie Boyd (R) have also filed. 

NC House of Representatives (District 71)

For the first time in nearly a decade, citizens who live in District 71 will have a new representative with longtime incumbent Evelyn Terry not seeking re-election. A native of Winston-Salem, before being elected in 2012, Terry served as a member of the Winston-Salem City Council from 2005 to 2009. 

This year voters will choose among contenders Frederick Terry, EvelynTerry’s husband, Kanika Brown, and David Moore, who are all Democrats. A win in the primary will guarantee a victory since there are no Republican challengers. 

NC House of Representatives (District 72)

Incumbent Amber Baker (D) has filed for re-election, but does not have a challenger in the primary. Baker will face Republican Shelton Stallworthy in the General Election. 

NC House of Representatives (District 74)

Democrats Carla Catalan Day and Sean Lew will face off in the primary to see who will challenge Republican Jeff Zenger in District 74, which represents voters in Lewisville and Clemmons.

NC Senate

There won’t be a primary for local senate seats. Incumbent Democrat Sen. Paul Lowe, who represents District 32, doesn’t have a challenger in the primary election, but will face Republican George Ware in November. Republican Joyce Krawiec, who represents District 31, is running unopposed. 

Forsyth County Board of Commissioners

The two seats in District A currently held by incumbents Fleming El-Amin and Tonya McDaniel, will be challenged by fellow Democrats Shai Woodbury, Phil Carter, and Gardenia Henley. 

The at-large bid for the Democrats on the board of commissioners will come down to incumbent Ted Kaplan and former Winston-Salem City Councilmember Dan Besse. 

In District B, incumbent Don Martin (R), is running unopposed. 

Forsyth County District Court Judges

Incumbent District Court Judges Fred Adams, George Cleland, and Valene McMasters, who are Democrats, and Judge Ted Kazakos, who is a Republican ,are running unopposed.

Forsyth County Clerk of Superior Court

Democrat Denise Hines, who is the incumbent in this race, has two challengers: Tina Flowers and John Snow.

Forsyth County District Attorney 

Voters will have to wait until November to decide who will lead the local district attorney’s office. Incumbent Jim O’Neil (R) will face longtime Forsyth County District Court Judge Denise Hartsfield. (D)

About Author

Tevin Stinson

Tevin Stinson

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors