‘First Take’’s Stephen A. Smith headlines 2017 CIAA Hall of Fame inductees

‘First Take’’s Stephen A. Smith headlines 2017 CIAA Hall of Fame inductees
February 16
04:05 2017



ESPN broadcaster and Winston-Salem State University (WSSU) alum Stephen A. Smith and six others will be inducted into the 2016-17 John B. McLendon Jr. CIAA Hall of Fame.

Smith accepted a scholarship to play basketball under legendary Head Coach Clarence “Big House” Gaines in the late 1980s. In 1991, he graduated from WSSU and began his journalism profession as a clerk/writer at the Winston-Salem Journal.

The CIAA annually recognizes inductees for their excellence in the CIAA, significant contributions in the community, leadership in CIAA sports, and commitment to the conference mission. Each honoree is recommended by the CIAA Hall of Fame Committee, endorsed by the Management Council and approved by the Board of Directors.

Advancing his career through positions at the Greensboro News & Record, New York Daily News, and the Philadelphia Inquirer, Smith has earned a reputation as one of the most successful journalists/commentators of the modern era.

In November 2009, Smith became an on-air contributor to Fox Sports Radio, and was the one who broke the story of Allen Iverson’s retirement.

It was announced April 30, 2012, on air that Smith would be joining ESPN’s “First Take” on a permanent, five-day-per-week basis under a new format for the show called “Embrace Debate” in which he squares off against another analyst.

host of his own show on ESPN Radio.

Another 2017 CIAA Hall inductee is WSSU alum Richard Huntley, who joined the Rams football team in 1992 and was a standout running back throughout his collegiate career.

In 1996, Huntley was drafted into the National Football League (NFL) as the 117th overall pick with a fourth-round selection by the Atlanta Falcons. Huntley rushed for more than 1,000 yards in each of his four seasons with the Rams, ending his college career ranked second all-time in NCAA history with 6,286 yards rushing.

Other CIAA Hall inductees include Dr. Mickey L. Burnim, Terry Davis, Dr. DeWayne Jeter, LaKisha Phifer-Patterson and Derrick John.

“We are pleased to honor this distinguished group of individuals whose talents and contributions to the CIAA and its member institutions have been locally and nationally recognizable and impactful,” said CIAA Commissioner Jacqie McWilliams.

A formal induction ceremony will be held at the Hall of Fame Breakfast on Friday, Feb. 24 at 9 a.m. in the Charlotte Convention Center. Individual seats and tables of 10 for the induction ceremony and celebration breakfast are now on sale and can be purchased using the online registration or by mail.

Friday morning’s induction ceremony is one of many ancillary events surrounding the 2017 CIAA Men’s and Women’s Basketball Tournament that will be held in Charlotte, North Carolina from Tuesday through Saturday, February 21-25.

Profiles of other inductees

*Dr. Mickey L. Burnim has dedicated over 30 years to higher education through CIAA member-institutions. He holds bachelor’s and master’s degree from the University of North Texas and a Doctorate from University of Wisconsin at Madison. He spent 11 years as the Chancellor of Elizabeth City State University. Dr. Burnim became president in 2006. Bowie State University. He serves on the CIAA Board of Directors, having completed two terms as Chairman of the Board.

*Terry Davis played four years of collegiate men’s basketball at Virginia Union from 1985 to 1989, scoring 1,508 points and grabbing 1,125 rebounds.  Davis was named the CIAA Most Outstanding Player in 1989 while Virginia Union went 101-22 during his career. Davis played as a power forward and center for the Miami Heat, Dallas Mavericks, Washington Wizards, and Denver Nuggets during a 12-year career in the NBA.

*Dr. DeWayne Jeter joined the Virginia State football team in 1957. Jeter was a four-year starter at quarterback and led the Trojans in passing yards in each of his seasons for a career total 2,510 yards.

His career passing yards and total offense (1958, 1,012) records upheld in the Virginia State record books for 28 years. In 1962, Jeter signed with the Dallas Texans (Kansas City Chiefs). He was soon called for active duty and led Fort Benning to an undefeated season and National Military Championship.

*LaKisha Phifer-Patterson is known as one of the greatest shot blockers in women’s college basketball for her career at Saint Paul’s College (1995-1999). She started off her career being named CIAA Rookie of the Year while earning All-CIAA team honors in 1996. In just three seasons with the Tigers, the 6-1 center tallied 876 points, 836 rebounds, 108 steals, and 77 assists.

*Derrick Johnson was a four-year starter on the Virginia Union men’s basketball team, assisting the Panthers to three Conference Championship Titles (1992-94) and an NCAA Division II National Championship title in 1992. He attended Virginia Union from 1989-1994. The 6-9 center was named Most Outstanding Player of the 1992 NCAA National Tournament in addition to being named to the 1992 NCAA All-Tournament Team. Johnson spent one year with the minor league Tri-City Chinooks of the Continental Basketball Association (CBA) before embarking on an eight-year international basketball journey

Purchase Tickets: 0 1 6 -17/tournament17/HOF_pa y_form_2017 Call  704- 910-2133.

Janay Boone is a senior multimedia journalism major at N.C. A&T State University.

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors