Police promotions announced

Police promotions announced
September 24
11:00 2020

Police Chief Catrina Thompson announced today the promotion of 18 police officers and five non-sworn employees, including the promotion of Lieutenant Jose E. Gomez to captain. A promotion ceremony will be held at 2 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 24, and will be livestreamed over the city’s YouTube channel to allow family members and friends to participate virtually.

Gomez has served 21 years in the Police Department. During his career he has served in the Patrol Division, the Criminal Investigations Division, the Special Investigations Division, the Street Crimes Unit and the Special Weapons and Tactics Team, the Professional Standards Division, and the Office of the Chief of Police. He has a bachelor’s degree from Garner-Webb University, a master’s degree in public administration from Appalachian State University, is a graduate of the N.C. State University Administrative Officers Management Program, and has an Advanced Law Enforcement Certificate from the N.C. Criminal Justice, Education and Training Standards Commission. 

Also promoted are:

*To lieutenant: Sergeants Jeffrey Azar, George E. Jenkins and Crystal S. Prichard.

*To sergeant: Corporals Joshua D. Caffey, Patrick A. Davenport, Jennifer L. Dobey, James B. Gerald, Shena M. Nelson, Joshua A. Sheets, Lauren A. Veal, David D. Walsh and Randall D. White.

*To corporal: Police officers William T. Burge, Jaqueline W. Guest, Benjamin M. Harrison, Tanya R. Purdie and Shaun D. Wagoner. 

*To forensic services division supervisor: Forensic Services Assistant Supervisor Erin E. Warren.

*To forensic services squad supervisor: Forensics Services Technician Samantha A. Story.

*To communications training coordinator: Senior Public Safety Communications Operator Martha A. Hix.

*To senior crime analyst: Crime Analysts Brenna Fiutak and Nicki Tamer.

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors