Publisher of The Atlanta Voice honored with NABJ 2021 Legacy Award  

Publisher of The Atlanta Voice honored with NABJ 2021 Legacy Award  
December 02
12:32 2021

ATLANTA, Ga. – The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) announced that Janis L. Ware, publisher of The Atlanta Voice, will receive its Legacy Award, a special honor presented during its 2021 Hall of Fame Inductees, Special Honors Recipients and Finalists ceremony.  

The organization is holding the ceremony virtually on Saturday, Dec. 4, at 7:30 p.m. ET, through a free video stream that will include special guests, entertainment and interactive features.  

“I am extremely honored to be chosen to receive the NABJ Legacy Award,” Ware said. “Despite being a publisher of a newspaper for over 30 years, I’m always surprised when someone takes the time to recognize the work that my organization and I have done.”  

“We’ve been at it for 56 years and since taking over for my father, J. Lowell Ware, The Atlanta Voice has managed to provide our community with the information that it needs. And in the process, we’ve managed to continue to up our game. In my eyes, it isn’t Janis L. Ware receiving the NABJ 2021 Legacy Award, but Janis L. Ware and The Atlanta Voice, because when you honor me, you’re acknowledging my team and the work that we will continue to do for another 56 years and more.” 

During the virtual awards ceremony, NABJ will induct eight new members into its Hall of Fame and award 14 special honors to Black journalists and communicators from around the world.   

The awards ceremony will also highlight winners of NABJ’s Salute to Excellence Awards, which recognize journalism and communications work that best cover the Black experience or address issues affecting the worldwide Black community. Salute to Excellence nominees will be announced later this month.  

Additionally, NABJ will honor Black journalists and communicators we’ve lost over the last year with a special In Memoriam tribute. 

“Every year, NABJ pays homage to legendary Black journalists and media professionals who have made outstanding contributions to our industry,” said Dorothy Tucker, NABJ President. “We are honored to recognize the distinguished work of this year’s Hall of Fame class and the impact of the individuals and groups receiving our Special Honors awards. We also look forward to celebrating our 2021 Salute to Excellence finalists and winners.” 

NABJ 2021 Hall of Fame inductees are: 

*A.J. Smitherman, Tulsa Star (posthumously) 

*Claire Smith, Temple University /MLB Writer 

*Cornelius “Neil” Foote Jr., Foote Communications, LLC/ University of North Texas 

*Kirk McKoy, Kirk McKoy Photography, Formerly L.A. Times 

*Monica Roberts, TransGriot (posthumously) 

*Rochelle Riley, ​​City of Detroit/Author 

*Rodney A. Brooks, U.S. News & World Report/Author 

The winners of the NABJ Chapters of the Year Awards will be announced during the December 4 ceremony. During the ceremony, NABJ will also announce the recipient of the Thumbs Down Award.  

Thumbs Down is presented annually to an individual or organization for especially insensitive, racist or stereotypical reporting, commentary, photography, or cartoons about the Black community, or for engaging in practices at odds with the goals of NABJ. 

The event link will be announced in the coming weeks.  

The 2021 NABJ Awards is presented by FedEx and sponsored by Caesars Entertainment. Follow the hashtag #NABJAwards to stay updated on event information or visit 

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors