Race Progress Promoters to be honored

Race Progress Promoters  to be honored
November 01
00:00 2012

WSSU Band Director Dr. Michael Macgruder, will be among this year’s honorees.

The Effort Club of New Bethel Baptist Church, 1016 N. Trade St., will celebrate its 88th Anniversary and hold its 16th Annual Race Progress Promoters Program on Sunday, Nov. 11 at 4 p.m.

This year’s program is being dedicated to the late Rev. Dr. Jerry Drayton, a former pastor of the church, for his dedication, support and faithful service.

The Race Progress Promoters Program honors African American individuals and groups who have made significant contributions to promote greater positive visibility for blacks in the local community. The idea for the honors came from Susie Drayton, Dr. Drayton’s widow.

This year’s honorees are: Wesley Curtis for business; Edward Hanes and Linwood Jerald for sports; Dalphne Holmes-Johnson for public service; Dr. Michael Macgruder   and the Winston-Salem State University marching band (Red Sea of Sound) for music/fine arts; Walter Marshall for politics; Dorothy S. M. Edward and Dr. Lucas D. Shallua for education; Pat Mumford for humanitarian efforts; and Rev. William L. Owens for religion.

This year’s panel of judges include Chief Judge Carol Poe,  Nigel Alston and Virginia Newell.

Music will be performed by members of the Mu Beta Chapter of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity and the Napper singers. Effort Club President Olivia Thompkins will preside over the program.

A meet and greet reception will be held in honor of the award recipients following the program.  Dr. Kendall D. Jones Sr. is the senior pastor of New Bethel Baptist Church.

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors