Sunday School Union celebrates 115 years

Sunday School Union  celebrates 115 years
October 22
00:00 2015

Submitted photos Officials with the Forsyth County Sunday School Union (FCSSU) are shown at the Gala Celebration on Sept. 26. They are: (L-R) Elder Richard Wood, chairman of the executive board of the FCSSU; Minister Velma McCloud, president of the FCSSU; and James Lewis Jr., dean of Christian Education for the FCSSU.


Special to The Chronicle

The Forsyth County Sunday School Union (FCSSU), which was organized in 1900, hosted its first Gala Celebration to commemorate 115 years of ministering to God’s people.

The FCSSU’s mission is to support the Sunday School/Christian Education administrative and teaching ministry of churches of the Lordship of Jesus Christ according to biblical truths, through training, missionary giving, fellowship and various Christ-centered programs.

The membership consists of 20 local church Sunday school ministries that meet every third Sunday at member churches for training and various programs.

Winston-Salem Mayor Allen Joines gave greetings.

The guest speaker for the Gala was Dr. Haywood T. Gray of Raleigh. Gray serves as executive secretary-treasurer of the General Baptist Sate Convention of North Carolina Inc. “He gave a dynamic message emphasizing the importance of ‘Transforming the Minds’ of individuals who are taught in the Sunday School ministry,” FCSSU officials said in a statement.

“Solos rendered by First Lady Hattie Fulwood and Ralph Meadows blessed us. Mimist Antwain Scrivens of Rizzen Mime Ministry stirred our souls with his anointed performance,” the officials said.

The FCCSU used this Gala occasion to honor individuals who have served in their churches and in the FCSSU. The honorees include those Sunday school superintendents who had served 25 years or more in their local churches.

Those honored on Saturday, Sept. 26, at the Embassy Suites in Winston-Salem were presented with plaques including: Elliot Brown, 25 years, First Waughtown; Jimmy Diggs, 25 years, St. Stephens; James Wright, 36 years, Dreamland Park; Mack Nowlin, 36 years, St. Mark; Napoleon Sherrad, 40 years, Mars Hill; and J. Kelsey Trusedale, 50 years, Union Chapel.

Also recognized were those who served as presidents of the FCSSU. Those living who served from 1981 to present received a paperweight inscribed with years served. Honorees in this category included: Luther Jones (’81-’85); Fred Mizzell (’85-’89); Minister Lorenzo Wesley (’90-’92); Rev. James Lewis Jr. (’94-’98); James Wright (’98-’04); Elder Richard Wood (’04-’10) and Minister Velma McCloud (’10-present).

Over the years, the FCSSU has given thousands of dollars to our Scholarship Essay winners to help further their education. Some of the past scholarship recipients names were listed in the program booklet with information written by some of them in regard to their positions and achievements.

“This Gala Celebration was a fitting way to give thanks to God for His grace and goodness bestowed upon the Forsyth County Sunday School Union during its 115 years of existence,” FCSSU officials said.

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors