Trump wins, Cooper leads

President elect, Donald Trump

Trump wins, Cooper leads
November 10
09:00 2016

African-American Mike Morgan wins Supreme Court seat 



Donald Trump will be the next president of the United States.

In a shocking upset, the Republican candidate gained more Electoral College votes than Democrat Hillary Clinton, who is a former first lady, senator and secretary of state. Early Wednesday morning, she disbanded what was planned as a victory party and called Trump to concede.

Clinton had the most actual votes as of press time, however.

Trump’s victory speech had a conciliatory tone after a divisive and nasty campaign, in which he called his opponent “Crooked Hillary.”

Trump won North Carolina by a little more than 3 percent. The billionaire and reality TV show star, who had no government or political experience, campaigned as an outsider with a slogan  of “Make America Great Again.”

Trump’s been a controversial candidate. His rhetoric and policies garnered him endorsements from the likes of the Klu Klux Klan. His positions have included a ban or increased scrutiny on Muslims entering the country, building a border wall to keep out the “criminals, drug dealers and rapists” he said Mexico was sending to the United States and implementing the random police searches of “stop and frisk” in black communities.

“It’s time to come together as one united people,” he said.

In a N.C. Supreme Court upset,  Superior Court Judge Mike Morgan, an African-American, defeated incumbent Justice Bob Edmunds, who’s been on the court since 2001. Morgan’s judicial career spans 26 years as a superior, administrative and district court judge. His election will change the court to a Democratic majority.

In other races, Republican Sen. Richard Burr defeated former state lawmaker Deborah Ross to secure a third term in the Senate. He said this will be his final election.

“I pledge to you to finish my public service doing all I can to make sure that the next generation feels the full effects of all that we can accomplish,” said Burr.

Six-term incumbent Rep. Virginia Foxx won re-election, once again decisively defeating Democratic challenger Josh Brannon.

There were many shake ups in state government, including races that weren’t decisive as of The Chronicle’s press time. The governor’s race between Gov. Pat McCrory and Attorney General Roy Cooper ended with Cooper up a fraction of a percent, which qualifies it for a recount. Other state races that ended within the half a percent that qualifies for a recount include Democrat Josh Steins’ victory for attorney general over Buck Newton, and Republican Beth Wood’s win for auditor over incumbent Chuck Stuber.

Other tight victories above the half a percent recount margin include incumbent Superintendent June Atkinson, a Democrat, being defeated by Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools Board of Education Member Mark Johnson, a Republican. Republican Dan Forest also won re-election as lieutenant governor. Republican Mike Causey also unseated incumbent Commissioner of Insurance Wayne Goodwin.

Secretary of State Elaine Marshall, a Democrat, and Commissioner of Labor Cherie Berry, a Republican, both successfully defended their seats, as did Commissioner of Agriculture Steve Troxler, who is also a Republican. Dale Folwell also won a decisive victory against Dan Blue III for treasurer, a position held by Janet Cowell, who isn’t seeking re-election.

Incumbents won in the judicial races for District 21c Superior Court and N.C.Court of Appeals with the exception of Republican Phil Berger Jr.’s defeat of Linda Stephens, a 10 years incumbent on the appeals court.

About Author

Todd Luck

Todd Luck

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors