WSSU athletic director gains administrators group honor

Tonia Walker

WSSU athletic director gains  administrators group honor
July 21
07:00 2016

WSSU Logo 2KANSAS CITY, Mo.— Winston-Salem State University director of athletics, Tonia Walker, was named the NCAA Division II Administrator of the Year by the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletics Administrators (NACWAA).
In celebration of the success, achievements and advancement of women leaders, the NACWAA announced July 15 its 2016 Administrator of the Year Award recipients.

The eight honorees will be honored Oct. 11 in Kansas City, Mo., at the 2016 Administrator of the Year Luncheon presented by AXA, in conjunction with the annual NACWAA National Rally. The Administrator of the Year Award is presented each year and honors NACWAA members for significant contributions made in athletic administration.

In addition, NACWAA will also present the Nell Jackson Administrator of the Year Award, which honors an administrator who exemplifies the personal qualities and professional accomplishments of Dr. Nell Jackson—courage, conviction and perseverance.

As athletic director of Winston-SalemState University, Tonia Walker is committed to promoting excellence in intercollegiate athletics and advancing women and student-athletes. She has high expectations to succeed and is known to take risks as a leader to promote causes that fuel her passions.

She is a successful fundraiser who has revamped the university’s athletic brand as well as developing and implementing her own leadership programs for coaches and student-athletes. WSSU athletics have thrived under her watch, with seven CIAA championships and 140 student-athlete graduates in 2015 and 2016 combined.

Her nominator calls her a highly respected leader, guide, mentor, and friend who understands her role in making a difference in education and protecting the welfare of student-athletes.

Nominated by their peers and selected by the NACWAA Awards Committee for their service during 2015-16, the 2016 honorees are:

*NCAA Division I FBS: Sarah Baumgartner, Deputy Athletic Director, Rutgers University

*NCAA Division I FCS: Diane Metcalf, Director of Athletics Development, University of New Hampshire

*NCAA Division I: Karina Herold, Associate Director of Athletics for External Operations/SWA, Pepperdine University

*NCAA Division II: Tonia Walker, Director of Athletics, Winston-Salem State University

*NCAA Division III: Nikki Fennern, Director of Athletics/SWA, Saint Mary’s University

*NAIA/NJCAA: Krishna Dass, Director of Athletics, Hostos Community College

*Association/Organization: Julie Muller, Commissioner (former), North Atlantic Conference

*Nell Jackson Award: Shirelle Jackson, Assistant  Athletic Director of Student Athlete Development, University of Miami

“Each year, NACWAA is thrilled to celebrate and honor such extraordinary women who live out our mission each and every day,” said Patti Phillips, NACWAA CEO. “We are continually inspired and energized by their commitment and dedication to intercollegiate athletics and the advancement of women both in our industry and beyond.”

About the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletics Administrators

The National Association of Collegiate Women Athletics Administrators (NACWAA) is the premier leadership organization that empowers, develops, celebrates and honors women working in college sports. NACWAA takes an active role in advancing women into positions of influence and in doing so, helps shape the landscape of women leaders changing our world today. Learn more at

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors