Xaviea Camille Chambers Carter crowned Little Miss America 2017

Shown are Little Miss America 2017 participants (left to right): Zaree Makya Fulwood, Kai Naveah Rhinehardt, Kena Elizabeth Leonard, Trinity Nevaeh Watkins, Deena D.L. Williams, Kayden Denise Cameron-Fuller, Camille Shamiya Drew and Xaviea Camille Chambers Carter.

Xaviea Camille Chambers Carter crowned Little Miss America 2017
May 24
05:00 2017

Xaviea Camille Chambers Carter, a kindergarten student at Moore Magnet Elementary School, was crowned Little Miss America 2017. Kai Naveah Rhinehardt was the first runner up and Trinity Nevaeh Watkins was second runner up. The pageant was sponsored by the Winston-Salem Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

The setting for the pageant was Carswell Hall on the campus of Wake Forest University. It showcased eight young ladies, ages 6-10, with a variety of talents and interests.

This year’s theme of the Little Miss America Pageant on Sunday, April 23, was “I AM…” and focused on encouraging the young ladies to think, declare and achieve their dreams without limitation. Contestants opened the pageant with an energetic dance routine to Whitney Houston’s “Wanna Dance with Somebody.” It was choreographed by Alexis Cooper, an eighth-grade student at Walkertown Middle School.

The young ladies wowed the audience of relatives and friends as they modeled active wear, showcased talents and displayed grace, charm and confidence as they articulated who they are and their aspirations in life.

The pageant ended with a formal dance to Beethoven‘s “Minuet in G,” which was choreographed by Andrais Brandon and Vicki Grant. Contestants curtsied, swayed and swirled in elegant white dresses and gloves while their escorts, dressed to impress, smiled and extended their arms of support.

Each Little Miss America Pageant contestant raised funds to assist the young ladies participating in the Jabberwock Pageant. The Jabberwock Pageant, also sponsored by the local chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Inc., is composed of high school-aged young ladies who plan to attend a four-year college or university. Funds raised by the Little Miss America contestants are used to provide scholarships to the Jabberwock contestants once they are enrolled in a four-year institution of higher learning.

The Little Miss America Pageant was the brainchild of the late Miss Mary Louise Smith, a past president of the Winston-Salem Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Inc.

Elizabeth Newton is the president of the Winston-Salem Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. Chelsea Hosch served as chairwoman for the 2017 Little Miss America Pageant. The committee members are Andrais Brandon, Juliet Brown, Shawnte’ Gates, Judge Denise Hartsfield, Mikaela Spruill and Gladys Wilson.

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors