8 individuals and one team headed for Clarence E. ‘Big House’ Gaines Hall of Fame

8 individuals and one team headed for Clarence E. ‘Big House’ Gaines  Hall of Fame
June 15
01:00 2017

The Winston-Salem State University Athletic Hall of Fame Committee has announced the 2017 inductees into the Clarence E. “Big House” Gaines Athletic Hall of Fame. Eight individuals and one team will take their place among the WSSU greats.

The individual inductees and the team will be inducted in a ceremony on Friday, Sept. 8, at Dillard Auditorium located in the Anderson Center, on the WSSU Campus, and will be honored at halftime of the Winston-Salem State versus Bowie State University football game on Saturday, Sept. 9 at Bowman Gray Stadium.

The Winston-Salem State University Clarence E. “Big House” Gaines Athletic Hall of Fame is the highest individual honor that a former athlete, athletic administrator or private individual can receive at Winston-Salem State University. The WSSU C.E. Gaines Athletic Hall of Fame honors an annual class of new inductees in the fall of every academic year after an exhaustive year-long nomination, review, and induction voting process by a 15-member panel.

Inductees are available in three distinct categories with former athletes, former coaches, and those who have devoted countless hours of tireless work to the Athletic Department through meritorious service being eligible for enshrinement. The Hall of Fame selection committee considers the applicants’ accomplishments as well as their financial contributions to the University.

“To an athlete, being enshrined into your university’s athletic hall of fame is reaching the mountaintop. There is no higher honor,” WSSU Director of Athletics, Tonia Walker said. “On behalf of the entire WSSU Department of Athletics, congratulations to all inductees for reaching this milestone.”

Listed below is the 2017 Hall of Fame Class:

*Milton J. Hardee, Class of 1987

Nominated for:  Wrestling

Occupation: Business Owner-Combination Cleaning Service, Inc./ Substitute Teacher

Professional Positions: 5 years as Assistant and Head Wrestling Coach at WSSU (Coached WSSU 1st and only NCAA Division II National Championship), 18 years as Assistant and Head Wrestling Coach at Carver High school, W-S, NC., 8 years as an Assistant Football and Head Wrestling Coach at Gwinnett County Public School, Ga.

Athletic Achievements:

1982 CIAA Championship Runner-Up

1982 UNC-Pembroke Classic Runner-Up

1982 Apprentice Champion

1983 CIAA Champion and Newport News Champion

1980-1984  4 years Varsity Wrestler and Letterman

1980-1984 Member of 4 CIAA Championship Wrestling Teams

Membership in Community Organizations:

Alpha Phi Omega, Inc. (WSSU)

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. (Graduate Chapter/Delta Sigma)

*Sharon Holloway Tanner, Class of 1989

Nominated for: Basketball

Occupation: NC Department of Revenue, Group Manager

Athletic Achievements: 4 year Letterman, Outstanding Freshman Award, Currently hold the WSSU Women’s Basketball rebounding record with 1,072 rebounds for past 29 years.

Membership in Professional/Community Organizations: Member of the WSSU Women’s Basketball Advisory Board, as well as NC Department of Revenue Leadership Excellence Program,  and Friendship Baptist Church Wake Forest, NC., also Women’s Prison Ministry Member, and Certified AAU Basketball Coach.

*Mark “Gator” Wallace, Class of 1984-86

Nominated for:  Football

Athletic Achievements: 1987 CIAA Championship team member, 1987 All CIAA Football Team, All-time leading Tackler at WSSU, Selected to Freedom Bowl

A Two-Time All-CIAA Selection

Team Captain 1987

Still holds the record for most tackles

*Thomas Washington, Class of 2014

Nominated for:  Football

Occupation: Conductor CXS Railroad Company

Athletic Achievements: 3 time All-CIAA Player, 4 year Letterman, Member off the 1999 CIAA Championship team and Pioneer Bowl Champion

*Bridget Tawana Taylor, Class of 1996

Nominated for:  Softball

Occupation: President of Taylor Made Truckers Service Inc.

Athletic Achievements (partial list): Division II Runs Batted In (RBI) Champions – 1994

1st SB Player to be named Division II Runs Batted in (RBI) Champions

4 Year SB Letterman 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996

3 Year WSSU Team Leading Hitter 1993, 1994, 1996

2 Year Ladies SB MVP 1993, 1994

2 Year CIAA ALL Team 1993, 1994

*Jerry Maynard, Class of 1986

Nominated for: Football

Occupation: Freight Auditor

All CIAA Offensive Team (1986/1987)

Freedom Bowl 1987

Free Agency LA Rams 1987

Community Contributions: Mentor at high schools, volunteer basketball coach at the YMCA, leader of Men’s Fellowship at Elim Christian Fellowship

*DeRon Verne Alexander, Class of 1998

Nominated for: Football

Athletic Achievements: 2 Times all CIAA 1998 & 1999

4 Year Letterman – Captain

All Rookie Ram – 1996

Led CIAA In Tackles – 1998-1999

All Region – Pre Season All American

1999 CIAA Championship – 1999 Pioneer Bowl Champion

Class of 2000 Sports Management Major

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

*Tony Bouler, Class of 1978

Nominated for: Track & Field

Athletic Achievements: 1974-1975 Letterman 120 High Hurdles

2nd Place Finished CIAA

3rd Place Finish ACC Plays

1975-1976, 1st Place CIAA

2 Place Plays ACC

1st Place Finish Dish District 26 Meet

*1987 WSSU Football Team

Nominated for:  Football

Athletic Achievements: First Southern Division Team to win the CIAA Championship in football when the conference was divided into Northern and Southern Division.

From the 1987 team 3 players went on the player in the NFL, one to play in the World League and 4 players in Arena Football.

Hall of Fame Members for the 1987 Team include players  Anthony Blaylock, Yancey Thigpen, Donald Frank and coaches William Hayes, Pete Richardson, Michael Winbush, Jack Cameron, Linwood Gerald ,Melvin Fair, Fernandez Griffin (trainer).

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors