ACC Football legends picked

ACC  Football  legends picked
August 23
00:00 2012

The ACC has announced its Class of 2012 Dr. Pepper ACC Football Championship Game Legends.

The Class is led by College Football Hall of Famer former Miami defensive end Ted Hendricks (Miami Springs, Fla.), former Duke guard Mike McGee (Elizabeth City, N.C.), former ACC Players of the Year Frank Quayle (Garden City, N.Y.) of Virginia and Torry Holt (Gibsonville, N.C.) of NC State.

Former ACC Player of the Year, Torry Holt.

The others are: Boston College offensive guard Bob Hyland (White Plains, N.Y.), the Eagles first lineman to be taken in the first round of the NFL Draft; Clemson tight end Bennie Cunningham (Seneca, S.C.), a consensus first-team All-America for the Tigers in 1974; Florida State linebacker Sam Cowart (Jacksonville, Fla.), a consensus first-team All-America for the Seminoles in 1997; and Georgia Tech safety Ken Swilling (Toccoa, Ga.), a consensus first-team All-America for the Jackets’ 1990 National Championship team; Maryland’s Chet “The Jet” Hanulak (Hackensack, N.J.), an All-America running back off the Terrapins’ 1953 National Champions; North Carolina’s Dre’ Bly (Chesapeake, Va.), a two-time consensus first-team All-America and one of the top cover cornerbacks in league history; Virginia Tech defensive back Pierson Prioleau (Alvin, S.C.), an All-America defensive back for the Hokies in the late 1990s; and Wake Forest’s Ed Stetz (Johnstown, Pa.), a two-time All-ACC linebacker and defensive stalwart for the Demon Deacons’ 1970 ACC Championship team.

The Legends will be honored at this year’s Dr. Pepper ACC Football Championship Game weekend in Charlotte, Nov. 30 – Dec. 1.

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors