Lauren Bradshear takes ’17 Jabberwock crown

Lauren Bradshear takes her place as the winner of the 2017 Jabberwock Scholarship event.

Lauren Bradshear takes ’17 Jabberwock crown
June 22
03:11 2017

On Saturday, May 20, the Winston-Salem Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority held the 2017 Jabberwock Scholarship event at Parkland High School in The Flonnie Anderson Auditorium. 

Fifteen junior and senior high school girls competed for the title of Miss Jabberwock 2017. 

The girls and their parents began the journey called Jabberwock in January 2017.  This year’s Jabberwock theme was “Believe-Become-Bloom: Delta Gardens Planting Seeds and Growing Miracles.”

This year’s program featured an opening act with the contestants and Otesha Creative Arts Ensemble in a spirited African dance that featured drummers and dancers, signaling the start of the festive and lively evening of blooms.  With a backdrop of lush greenery, red and white flowers and bright attire, Jabberwock 2017 kicked off with a bang.

The audience was introduced to the escorts with a festive number to Bruno Mars’ “24 Karate Magic In the Air,” choreographed by Courtney Porter of PIPA. The escorts were: Kendall Britton, Christian Brown, Kolby Hines, James Flynt, De’Quann Thompson, Christian Alford, Malik Allah, Dawoud Evans, Lemuel Gaither, Reginald McNeil, Ronnie Brown, Sisa Dreher, Jaden Pledger, Trevion Jackson and Tryquann Allen.  With God balloons and handfuls of gold dust, there was indeed magic in the air.

The contestants followed with a Latin fusion dance to “Fiesta,” also choreographed by Porter.  The contestants were: Zaria Blackwell, Lauren Bradshear, Adrianna Carson, Amanda Chappell, Cyerra Crusie, Sydney Dominique, Jada Dove, Jasmine Dove, Tiffany Flowers, Kyrah Henderson, Mackenzie Joseph, Shaylea Rice, Nyla Rogers, Krishayla Rolle and Chasity Willis. They were dressed in bright long skirts with flowers around their necks and in their hair. 

A talent segment featured contestants Jasmine and Jada Dove in a “Through the Ages” dance routine; Kyrah Henderson with an original spoken word piece, called “Forty Acres and a Bullet”; and Nyla Rogers showcasing her tri-lingual skills, reciting and translating a poem in Chinese. 

At intermission, the top 11 African-American high school seniors (highest GPA) were recognized along with the winners of the Delta Scholarship.  The winners of the scholarship were: Deja Dobson, Kellie Allen, Garyell Felp, Ariyahnah Smith, Janiya Gibson, Reyniah Taylor, Hannah Hyatt and Brea Brown.

The evening concluded with a formal dance to “God Provides” and with the crowning of Miss Jabberwock 2017, who is Lauren Bradshear.  The first runner-up was Adrianna Carson and second runner-up was Kyrah Henderson.  All were juniors in high school.

Earlier, Little Miss America contestants, who raised over $6,000 to help the older girls defray the cost of college tuition, dazzled the crowd with a dance to “I Want To Dance With Somebody”, choreographed by Alexis Copper, a ninth grader at Walkertown High School. 

Elizabeth Newton is the president of the Winston-Salem Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Inc. and Judge Denise Hartsfield was the 2017 Jabberwock chairperson. 

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors