‘Race Progress’ awards to be presented

‘Race Progress’ awards to be presented
November 09
00:00 2013

The Effort Club of New Bethel Baptist Church, 1016 N. Trade St., will hold its 17th Annual Race Progress Promoters awards presentation on Sunday, Nov. 10 at 4 p.m.

The Race Progress Promoters program honors African Americans who have made significant contributions in Winston-Salem and helped to promote the city’s visibility. Former First Lady Susie Drayton started the program and is still involved today.

Individuals and groups are honored in a variety of categories. The winners were selected by an esteemed panel, which, this year, included Carol Poe, Nigel Alston and Virginia Newell.
On Sunday, the following will receive awards Minister Brian Cager (Theatrical Arts), Dr. Padonda Campbell (Medicine), Jarrett Coleman (The Inspiration), Brenda Diggs (Banking), Orielle Hope (Business), Monica McKinney (Law), S. Wayne Patterson (Civic Activities), Diane Piggott (Education), Police Chief Barry Rountree (Public Safety), Priscilla Stephens (Transportation Pioneer) and Rev. Louis Werts (Religion).

Program performers will include the Mu Beta Chapter of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity, Willie Mason and Friends and the New Bethel Young Adults Litgurical Dancers.

Other program participants will include Effort Club President Lisa Myers, Kerri Vance, Geneva Wright, Angela Logan, Willie Kay Hawkins, Connie Smith, Daphne Johnson, Sharon Grooms and Deronda Kee-Lucas.

A reception will follow the program. Dr. Kendall D. Jones Sr. is the senior pastor of New Bethel Baptist Church.

About Author

WS Chronicle

WS Chronicle

Related Articles


Featured Sponsor

Receive Chronicle Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



More Sponsors